Oracle RDBMS

Oracle RDBMS is a widely-used proprietary DBMS released by Oracle Corporation. The most recent version released was 18c; version 18.3 was released in July 2018. It supports a multi-model storage paradigm, allowing for JSON, key-value, XML, and graph models in addition to the traditional relational model.


In 1977, Larry Ellison, Robert Miner, and Ed Oates founded Software Development Laboratories, which was hired by the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in order to write a new database system based upon SQL. This system came to be known as Oracle. The company changed its name to Relational Software, Inc. in 1979 and then to Oracle Systems Corporation not long thereafter, in 1982.

Isolation Levels

Read Committed Serializable

Oracle supports isolation levels of read committed as well as serializable, defaulting with the latter. There is an additional mode available, "read only", which is not part of the SQL standard.


Naïve (Page-Level) Naïve (Record-Level) Bit Packing / Mostly Encoding

Oracle supports compression at multiple levels within the data, including by row, block, and index. It also supports network compression designed to reduce bandwidth usage and increase network throughput.

Oracle RDBMS Logo

Tech Docs



Country of Origin


Start Year


Project Type


Written in

C, C++

Supported languages

C, C++, COBOL, Java, PHP, PL/SQL, Python, R, SQL, Visual Basic

Operating Systems

AIX, HP-UX, Linux, Solaris, Windows